REY – A treasure for your wardrobe

A classy collection with clean and asymmetric cuts is what REY showed at the Reykjavík Fashion Festival’s third edition. We could see why it is so important for Rebekka Jónsdóttir, the designer of the Icelandic brand, to choose the fabrics of her collection and the elegant feeling that the textiles enhance.

I had the opportunity to talk to Rebekka after RFF about her experience on this edition and collection.

How was for you to show this time at RFF? Did you feel a difference from the first time?

This time around, I was little bit more secure, it helped a lot to deal with all the unexpected turns. In the process of putting up a runway show it is unavoidable that somethings do not go according to plan. One handles the stress better if you have been through the ringer before. I do feel that RFF 3 was better for REY in many aspects than the year before, got more foreign press for example.

We saw on the catwalk a chic collection with a really nice cut, what was your inspiration?

I was looking at a lot of black and white photographs, mostly by Robert Mapplethorpe. I just read the memoir Just Kids by Patti Smith , in which she chronicles their relationship. The book is very moving and sort of gets in your head, does not let go. I got curious to study them a bit more through his work. This collection is a bit more edgy in cut and style than my previous ones.

You mentioned before that sometimes you design according to the fabric, depending on what it inspires you; but how do you make the fabric selection?

As my aim with each piece of my collection is to become a staple in the REY customers wardrobe, the fabric selection is crucial. I tend to gravitate towards natural fibers. I like a lot of drape. I usually start out by finding the one or two main fabrics. Fabric selection can be a bit tricky as I am located in Iceland but I try to gather samples on my travels and also try to cultivate good relationships with fabric producers abroad that send me tons of samples.

What was the big surprise at RFF for you, if there was any?

…that I am willing to do it again ..

What are you working on now?

I am doing a lot of follow up work with AW2012, press and buyers. And the the ball starts all over again with mood board for SS2013.

To learn more about REY click here.

To buy REY online click here.

* Photos by Marino Thorlacious.

Follow Lost In Seine with Bloglovin‘.

This entry was posted in Fashion, Iceland and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to REY – A treasure for your wardrobe

  1. Steph says:

    enjoyed the insights! really love the clean lines of her designs too

Leave a Reply

